Return to Headlines

KCSD Trustees recognize Chairman Burns for service to community and schools

Date: Monday, December 12, 2022

During the Tuesday, December 6 KCSD School Board Meeting, Board Chair James Smith presented a plaque to Julian Burns on behalf of the KCSD Board of Trustees for his many years of dedicated service to Kershaw County through his position as County Council Chairman. 

"Your leadership in our county and unwavering support of the District is greatly appreciated. You have been a true advocate for our students and our schools," said Dr. Smith.

Dr. Smith also thanked Chairman Burns for generously donating his Chairman's salary for many years for KCSD student scholarships.


Pictured left to right are: Harrison J. Goodwin, Ed.D.; Ron Blackmon; Shirley Halley; Kim H. DuRant; Chairman Julian Burns; Dr. James P. Smith; Dr. Donald Copley; Todd McDonald; Matt Irick; and Mark Sury.

Becky Bean