Return to Headlines

Kershaw County’s Dr. James P. Smith chosen as SCSBA Region 6 Director

December 5, 2022

Dr. Smith - SCSBA Region 6 DirectorCOLUMBIA – Dr. James P. Smith, chairman of Kershaw County School District’s (KCSD) Board of Trustees, was installed as Region 6 Director of the South Carolina School Boards Association’s (SCSBA) Board of Directors during the association’s annual business meeting, Delegate Assembly, held Saturday, Dec.3, in Charleston. Region 6 includes Chesterfield, Darlington, Kershaw, Lee and Marlboro county schools.

The assembly is part of the association’s Legislative Advocacy Conference each year, which serves as the precursor to the upcoming legislative session.

Smith joins seven others elected by delegates from the state’s 73 school boards to serve on SCSBA’s board.

The others include:

  • President, Gail Hughes, Dorchester School District Two
  • President-Elect, Michele Branning, Fort Mill School District (York Four)
  • Secretary/Treasurer, Charles Govan, Darlington County School District
  • Region 10 Director, Hannah Priester, Hampton County School District
  • Region 13 Director, Scott Childers, York School District One
  • Region 14 Director, Dr. Sarah Simmons, Spartanburg School District Two
  • Region 15 Director, Glenda Morrison-Fair, Greenville County School District

In addition to the election of association officers, delegates adopted resolutions to guide the association during the 2023 legislative session and approved proposed changes to the SCSBA Constitution and Bylaws.

Smith has served on the KCSD board for five years and has reached level 4 in SCSBA’s Boardmanship Institute.

Smith is a native of Kershaw County and graduated from North Central High School prior to earning an undergraduate degree in sociology from Coker College, a Master of Divinity from Erskine Theological Seminary and the Doctor of Ministry from Chicago Theological Seminary.

The South Carolina School Boards Association is a non-profit organization serving as a source of information and as a statewide voice for boards governing the state’s 73 school districts.

Angela Crosland, Director of Communications, SCSBA