Return to Headlines

Kershaw County School Board elects officers, recognizes board service, signs ethical principles

January 12, 2022
At its organizational meeting Tuesday, the Kershaw County Board of School Trustees elected new officers, honored two members for their service and signed the SC School Boards Association's (SCSBA) ethical principles. 
Dr. James Smith was re-elected as Kershaw County School Board (KCSB) chairperson and Shirley Halley was re-elected to serve as vice-chairperson and chaplain. 
Two membersDr. Don Copley and Kim DuRantwere recognized for reaching milestones in their years of school board service.  Copley has served on our school board for 10 years and was one of 34 school board members across SC who reached the 10 or 15-year mark. DuRant is the longest-serving Kershaw County School Board member with 20 years of service. She is one of only 18 across the state marking their 20, 25, 30, 35 or 40th years of service. Both received special lapel pins from the SCSBA.
KCSB members also signed SCSBA's annual ethical principles that reinforce board members' commitment to open communication, support for public education and working together. 
January is School Board Member Appreciation Month. This year's theme is Celebrating Local Leaders,” which highlights the unique role school boards play in championing and advocating for quality education.
Photo 1: Kershaw County School District Superintendent Dr. Shane Robbins (left) swears Dr. James Smith in as Kershaw County School Board Chairperson.    
Photo 2Robbins (left) swears Shirley Halley in as Kershaw County School Board Vice-Chairperson and Chaplain.  
Photo 3Kershaw County School Board member Dr. Don Copley (right) is recognized by Robbins (left) for his 10 years of service.  
Photo 4 Kershaw County School Board member Kim DuRant (left) is recognized by Robbins (right) for her 20 years of service.     
Photo 5: Smith signs SCSBA's Ethical Principles while surrounded by other Kershaw County School Board members. 
Smith Swearing InHalley Swearing InDuRant 20 YearsCopley 10 YearsBoard Signing
Mary Anne Byrd