Return to Headlines

LEHS teacher Jenny Proctor named 2020 KCSD Teacher of the Year; Lugoff-Elgin Middle teacher Brad Brazell to serve as first alternate

October 29, 2020

Jenny Proctor, KCSD Teacher of the Year Lugoff-Elgin High School (LEHS) journalism teacher Jenny Proctor was named 2020 Kershaw County School District (KCSD) Teacher of the Year at a gala tonight while Lugoff-Elgin Middle School (LEMS) social studies teacher Brad Brazell was named first alternate.

Also honored during the evening’s celebration was LEHS art teacher Jessica King who received the Outstanding First Year Teacher award and Lugoff Elementary School (LES) Principal Melissa Lloyd who was recognized as the district’s Principal of the Year.

All 21 Kershaw County schools selected teachers of the year last school year, but their recognition ceremony was delayed due to the pandemic. Proctor and Brazell were two of five honor roll teachers selected as finalists for the district award. Other honor roll teachers are Allison Burnham, Blaney Elementary School; Mary Anne Catoe, Doby’s Mill Elementary School; and Rachael Proctor, Pine Tree Hill Elementary School.

Jenny Proctor started teaching at LEHS in 2003 after graduating magna cum laude from Presbyterian College. She left for four years to teach in a neighboring school district and returned in 2016.  She also serves as the advisor to the school’s yearbook which last year received the Palmetto Award from the South Carolina Scholastic Press Association (SCSPA) as the best yearbook in its division.

She is National Board Certified in careers and technical education and has received both the Elizabeth B. Dickey Distinguished Service Award and the Shoquist Freedom of the Press Award from SCSPA.

“In my classroom, my greatest contribution is helping students become stronger communicators,” Proctor said. “Although the majority of my students do not pursue journalism careers, the skills acquired through my curriculum develop them into better citizens, as they are able to more efficiently converse with their peers, co-workers, authority figures, and others.”

Her principal Corey Wright said, “In my brief time at Lugoff-Elgin, Mrs. Proctor has proven to be a truly invaluable asset. [She] has constantly supported the mission and the vision of LE in every way and is truly a teacher that puts the needs of students first.”

Brad Brazell, First Alternate Teacher of the Year Brazell started his teaching career at LEMS in 2017, the same year he was named as the Outstanding Social Studies Graduate at Anderson University. He was a finalist for the KSCD Outstanding First Year Teacher in 2018. Brazell chairs the LEMS School Improvement Council and is a member of KCSD’s Modern Teacher Cohort.

This is the second time that Lloyd has been named KCSD Principal of the Year. She also received the honor in 2008.

A graduate of Camden High School, Lloyd taught 4th and 5th grades at Camden Elementary School and Pine Tree Hill Elementary School. She became the assistant principal at LES in 1998 and principal in 2004.

Jessica King, Outstanding First Year Teacher King is the 12th KCSD educator to receive the district’s award to honor first year teachers. Although 2019-20 was her first year as a school teacher, she also taught art in the Paris Gibson Museum of the Arts in Great Falls, MT.  

“Interacting with students is the highlight of my day and honestly a huge part of my love language,” King said. “The relationship a teacher needs to establish with a student is a number one priority for me.”

Other Outstanding First Year Teacher honor roll finalists include Patricia Miles, Lugoff-Elgin Middle School; Suzanne Williams, Lugoff-Elgin Middle School; and Renata Inabinet, Midway Elementary School.

All of the 2020 local school teachers of the year were honored at the gala. They are:

  • Baron DeKalb Elementary – Rebecca Double
  • Bethune Elementary – Marilyn Perry
  • Blaney Elementary – Allison Burnham
  • Camden Elementary – Belinda Morse
  • Camden High – Stacey McGee
  • Camden Middle – Debbie Blinkhorn
  • Continuous Learning Center (CLC) – Wendell Gooding
  • Doby’s Mill Elementary – Mary Anne Catoe
  • Jackson School – Elizabeth Horton
  • Lugoff Elementary – Jenna Atkinson
  • Lugoff-Elgin High – Jenny Proctor
  • Lugoff-Elgin Middle – Brad Brazell
  • Midway Elementary – Selena Jones
  • Mt. Pisgah Elementary – LaToya Hubbard
  • North Central High – Renee Mitchell
  • North Central Middle – Kristen Galuppi
  • Pine Tree Hill Elementary – Rachael Proctor
  • Stover Middle – Koehler Beard
  • Wateree Elementary – Gladys Thompson
  • West Wateree Early Learning Academy – Stephanie Jones
  • Woolard Technology Center – Allyssa Cokley
Mary Anne Byrd