Return to Headlines

ATEC teacher Anna Harvley named 2019 KCSD Teacher of the Year; Pine Tree Hill Elementary teacher Kerry Fuller to serve as first alternate

April 25, 2019

2019 TOY Honorees Applied Education Technology Education Campus (ATEC) health sciences teacher Anna Harvley was named 2019 Kershaw County School District (KCSD) Teacher of the Year at a gala tonight while Pine Tree Hill Elementary (PTH) fourth grade ELA teacher Kerry Fuller was named first alternate.

Also honored during the evening’s celebration was Wateree Elementary fourth grade teacher Courtney Trapp who received the Outstanding First Year Teacher award and Camden Elementary special education teacher Madison Oliver who was named runner up for that award. ATEC Principal Gordon Morris was recognized as the district’s Principal of the Year.
All 20 Kershaw County schools selected teachers of the year earlier this school year. Harvley and Fuller were two of six honor roll teachers selected as finalists for the district award. Other honor roll teachers were BriAnna Alexander, Baron DeKalb Elementary; Janet Wilhite, Blaney Elementary School; Alison Lopez, Camden Middle; and Grace Robinette, Stover Middle School.
Before joining the staff at ATEC, Harvley taught health and sports medicine as well as served as the head athletic trainer at both Richland Northeast High School and Lugoff-Elgin High School.  
“My primary goal as an educator is to give students a hands-on education that will allow them to explore the world of Health Science and to give them enough knowledge and educational confidence to know if this is a professional cluster that they want to become a part of,” she said. “If it is not, I have worked hard to grow them into students who can think for themselves, given them life skills that they can use in any occupation, and encouraged them to make decisions based on the knowledge they have learned.”
Winner Anna Harvely “Mrs. Harvley has taken her love of teaching and dedication to children and combined it with her extensive knowledge in health science to become an outstanding educator,” her principal Morris said. “She is a great advocate for CATE education and an example of a true professional who works extremely hard to prepare her students.”
Fuller has taught first, fourth and fifth grades in Virginia and also advocated for the educational rights of military parents and students when she served as the Team Lead for a Military Education Coalition.
With 26 years in education, Morris served as ATEC's assistant director from 2009-2014 and as an assistant principal at Lugoff-Elgin High School from 2006 to 2009. He started his educational career as a social studies teacher at North Central High School.  
The awards for Harvley and Morris are historic as this is the last year that the name ATEC will be used in an honor for an educator since the school is being renamed Woolard Technology Center (WTC) next year to honor its founder. 
Trapp is the 11th KCSD educator to receive the district’s award to honor first year teachers. A fourth grade teacher at Wateree Elementary, she is a member of this year’s induction class.  Wateree Elementary Principal Gail Stehle said, “Observing a lesson in Mrs. Trapp’s room is a joy as she brings the curriculum to life in ways that encourage the children to give their best effort and never give up on themselves, thereby improving their skills while building their self-esteem.
Outstanding First Year Teacher judges were so impressed with the finalists that they named Camden Elementary special education teacher Madison Oliver as a runner up for this award. Oliver worked at Jackson School for the first semester of this school year. Jackson Principal Matia Goodwin said Oliver “is passionate about education and goes above and beyond the call of duty to meet the needs of her students.”
Other first year teachers who were named as honor roll teachers for the Outstanding First Year Teacher recognition include Kailey Mitchell, Camden Elementary; Ashley Tolbert, Pine Tree Hill Elementary; and Kensey Stephens, Wateree Elementary.   
All of the 2019 local school teachers of the year were honored at the gala. They are:
Applied Technology Education Campus (ATEC) – Anna Harvley
Baron DeKalb Elementary – BriAnna Alexander
Bethune Elementary – Heather Jackson
Blaney Elementary – Janet Wilhite
Camden Elementary – Laura Borowski
Camden High – Carla Cothern
Camden Middle – Alison Lopez
Continuous Learning Center (CLC) – Allison Wilks
Doby’s Mill Elementary – Shawna Goerlich
Jackson School – Kristen Dodson
Lugoff Elementary – Jenna Atkinson
Lugoff-Elgin High – Kevin Knoerr
Lugoff-Elgin Middle – Nikki Ingram
Midway Elementary – Nicole Woolard
Mt. Pisgah Elementary – Felicia Coleman
North Central High – Lana Broughton
North Central Middle – Anna Moser
Pine Tree Hill Elementary – Kerry Fuller
Stover Middle – Grace Robinette
Wateree Elementary – Caroline Stevenson
Mary Anne Byrd