Skip To Main Content

North Central Elementary teacher Twanda Geiger-Mickle named 2024 KCSD Teacher of the Year

North Central Elementary teacher Twanda Geiger-Mickle named 2024 KCSD Teacher of the Year
Becky Bean

North Central Elementary Teacher Twanda Geiger-Mickle was named 2024 Kershaw County School District (KCSD) Teacher of the Year at a celebration tonight, while North Central Middle teacher Jodie Kahler was chosen as first alternate.

All 18 Kershaw County schools selected teachers of the year. Geiger-Mickle and Kahler were two of five honor roll teachers selected as finalists for the district award. Other honor roll teachers are Sarah Campolongo, Lugoff Elementary; Dr. Tom Perry, North Central High; and Katie Munn, Woolard Technology Center.

An educator for nearly three decades, Geiger-Mickle joined KCSD in 2023 as a second grade teacher at North Central Elementary School. Prior to joining KCSD, she taught in Richland School District Two and served as a reading coach in Richland School District One. She earned a bachelor’s degree in education from South Carolina State University and a master’s in education from Columbia College. 

Her principal Britt Gardner says, “It is a blessing to have such a dedicated individual as Mrs. Geiger-Mickle teaching our students at North Central Elementary. Her rapport with children is natural and instinctive and her classroom climate is welcoming, stable and loving.”

Also honored during the evening’s celebration was Pine Tree Hill Elementary’s second grade teacher Angel Cooke who was named as the district’s Outstanding First Year Teacher. Adult Education Director Byron Johnson was recognized as the district’s 2024 Principal of the Year.

Angel Cooke is the 16th KCSD educator to receive the district’s award to honor first year teachers. She teaches second grade, where she plans interesting, hands-on lessons. Her students are engaged and truly enjoy the learning experience.

Other Outstanding First Year Teacher honor roll finalists are Brooke Moore, Doby’s Mill Elementary and Emily Seay, Doby’s Mill Elementary. 

Byron Johnson is a veteran educator who has worked in Kershaw County Schools for 17 years. Prior to leading the district's Adult Education program, he served as the Camden Middle School Principal for 10 years and as an assistant principal at Camden High for five years. He taught in Charleston County Schools for seven years, where he also served as a teaching coach for two years.

All of the 2024 local school teachers of the year were honored at the celebration. They are:

  • Blaney Elementary - Baleigh Johnson
  • Camden Elementary - Shannon Charbeneau
  • Camden High  - Amy Speaks
  • Camden Middle  - Brittney McCaskill
  • Continuous Learning Center - Joshua McDowell
  • Doby’s Mill Elementary - Christie Webb
  • Jackson School - Tori Alexander
  • Lugoff Elementary - Sarah Campolongo
  • Lugoff-Elgin High - Carl Spoto
  • Lugoff-Elgin Middle - Sheah Pacheco
  • Midway Elementary - Lindsey Wilson
  • North Central Elementary - Twanda Geiger-Mickle
  • North Central High - Dr. Tom Perry
  • North Central Middle - Jodie Kahler
  • Pine Tree Hill Elementary - Cory Lowery
  • Stover Middle - Kara Matney
  • Wateree Elementary - Kristi Britt
  • Woolard Technology Center - Katie Munn